suchen
Generic filters

Rapunzel syndrome

Adjunct Prof. Benjamin Walter, MD, Central Endoscopy Unit, Ulm University Hospital Alexander Kalner, MD, Department of Internal Medicine I, Ulm University Hospital Lukas Perkhofer, MD, Department of Internal Medicine I, Ulm University Hospital

Rapunzel syndrome – a very rare cause of gastrointestinal symptoms

A 31-year-old female patient presented to the University Hospital’s emergency department with upper abdominal pain that had persisted for 2 weeks. She also reported a long history of nausea and intermittent postprandial vomiting.

During the physical examination, a tumor-like mass several centimeters in size was palpated in the right upper abdomen. Following an inconclusive abdominal ultrasound examination, an esophagogastroduodenoscopy (EGD) was performed to exclude malignancy. The EGD revealed a foreign body in the stomach that was completely occluding the pylorus and causing symptoms of ileus. Closer examination revealed the clinical picture of a trichobezoar (hairball) (Fig. 1). The trichobezoar, which was more than 20 cm long, was mobilized in the stomach using grasping forceps, making it possible to remove it endoscopically with the help of a foreign-body cap (Fig. 2). The patient became completely free of symptoms after the intervention, and was discharged.

In addition to a borderline personality disorder, the patient was known to have trichotillomania and a tendency to trichophagy (compulsive eating of her own body hair) – a rare condition classified as an obsessive-compulsive disorder in DSM-5. A potentially life-threatening complication of this disorder is “Rapunzel syndrome,” which developed in this patient. In these cases, the tail of the hairball protrudes into the intestine like a long braid of hair and can lead to ileus conditions. The bezoars can be retrieved endoscopically, but in some cases only surgical removal is possible.

Legends

Fig. 1a The trichobezoar in the distal stomach
1b Endoscopic retrieval of the bezoar using an attached cap
Fig. 2a The “Rapunzel braid” after retrieval. The narrow waist at 7 cm corresponds to the position of the braid in the pylorus

Fig. 2b Close-up of the dense hairball that had caused the ileus symptoms

Scroll to Top

suchen
Generic filters

Das Rapunzelsyndrom

PD Dr. med. Benjamin Walter, Zentrale Endoskopie, Universitätsklinik Ulm Alexander Kalner, Klinik für Innere Medizin I, Universitätsklinikum Ulm Dr. med. Lukas Perkhofer, Klinik für Innere Medizin I, Universitätsklinikum Ulm

Das Rapunzelsyndrom – Eine sehr seltene Ursache gastrointestinaler Beschwerden

Eine 31-jährige Patientin stellte sich mit seit 2 Wochen persistierenden Oberbauchschmerzen in unserer universitären Notaufnahme vor. Anamnestisch gab Sie zusätzlich seit längerem Übelkeit und intermittierendes postprandiales Erbrechen an.

In der körperlichen Untersuchung konnte bereits palpatorisch eine mehrere Zentimeter große tumoröse Masse im rechten Oberbauch getastet werden. Zum Ausschluss eines malignen Geschehens erfolgte nach nicht wegweisender Abdomensonographie die Durchführung einer ÖGD. Hier zeigte sich ein Fremdkörper im Magen, der den Pylorus vollständig verschloss und eine Ileussymptomatik ausgelöst hat. Bei näherer Betrachtung ergab sich das Bild eines Trichobezoars (Haarknäuel) (Bild1). Nach Mobilisation mit der Fasszange in den Magen war, unter Zuhilfenahme einer Fremdkörperkappe, endoskopisch eine perorale Bergung des über 20cm langen Bezoars möglich (Bild 2). Postinterventionell zeigt sich die Patientin wieder vollständig beschwerdefrei und konnte entlassen werden.

Bei der Patientin ist neben einer Borderline-Persönlichkeitsstörung, mit einer Trichotilomanie und Trichophagie-Neigung (kompulsives Essen von eigenen Körperhaaren) bekannt. Eine seltene Erkrankung die laut DSM-5 als Zwangsspektrumsstörung eingeordnet wird. Eine potentiell lebensbedrohliche Komplikation dieser Erkrankung ist das bei dieser Patientin aufgetretene „Rapunzelsyndrom“. Dabei ragt der Schwanz des Haarknäuels wie ein Haarzopf bis in den Darm und kann zu Ileuszuständen führen. Eine Entfernung ist endoskopisch, in einigen Fällen nur chirurgisch möglich.

Abbildungen:

1a) Trichobezoar im distalen Magen
1b) Endoskopische Bergung mit aufgesetzter Kappe
2a) „Rapunzelzopf“ nach der Bergung, Taillierung bei 7cm entspricht der Lage im Pylorus
2b) Nahaufnahme des dichten Haarknäuels, das zur Ileussymptomatik geführt hat.

Scroll to Top